Karma

October 24, 2011

On my 2nd to last day of work, a customer/friend A.K.A. an arrogant asshole, as I like to jokingly call him, stayed behind after renting his movies. We usually have long conversations about everything from psychology to love to annoying bosses and this time the conversation led into my indecisiveness on purchasing a smart phone to take back to India. He asked me questions like: “How much does it cost” and “what model are you looking for” and with no intention from my side, I told him. Then I continued to tell him of my planned purchase of a phone later in the day. He told me not to buy that phone because he will get one for me. Now, forgive me for saying this, but I was damn ready to get a free phone. I am not the person to accept charity, but the amount of time I spent talking to him and acting like a counselor and the fact that I am flat ass broke, I simply said to him, “I’ll believe you when I see it” …and part of me did have my hopes up.

He called me the same day asking me to confirm the model and so on. But when he came in the next day, he said he did not buy it. He proceeded to tell me about his day and how he got a speeding ticket, coincidentally he had to pay the EXACT amount that my phone would have cost him.

I pointed and laughed my ass off for an hour straight and said several times more than necessary, “karma’s a bitch, you had to pay somehow;  you should have bought me my phone!”

Leave a comment